1st Cherokee Mounted Rifles

1st Cherokee Mounted Rifles was organized at Old Fort Wayne, Delaware District, Cherokee Nation, in July, 1861. For a time it served in the Department of the Indian Territory, then was assigned to D. H. Cooper's and Watie's Brigade, Trans-Mississippi Department. The unit was active in the engagements at Elkhorn Tavern, Old Fort Wayne, Prairie Grove, Elk Creek, and Mazzard Prairie. About 200 officers and men saw action at Cabin Creek in September, 1864, then surrendered on June 23, 1865. Its commanders were Colonels James M. Bell and Stand Watie; Lieutenant Colonels Robert C. Parks, Thomas F. Taylor, Joseph F. Thompson, and Clem N. Vann; and Majors E. C. Bondinot and E. J. Howland.

Previous Page