Donaldsonville Artillery
(Donaldsonville Battery Volunteer
 Maurin’s, Landry’s)

(See Below)

Organization: Organized and mustered in Confederate service in August 1861. It was armed with two 10-lb. Parrotts, one 3" Rifle, and three 6-lb. Smoothbores in August and September 1862. It was armed with one 10-lb. Parrott and two 3" Rifles on July 1-3, 1863. It was armed with two 12-lb. Napoleons and two 10-lb. Parrotts on December 28, 1864. Surrendered at Appomattox Court House, Virginia on April 9, 1865.

First Commander: Victor MAURIN, CPT [promoted MAJ July 11, 1864]

Captain: R. Prosper LANDRY

Assignments: Artillery, Department of the Peninsula (Sep 61-Jan 62); Rains’ Division, Department of the Peninsula (Jan-Feb 62); Unattached, Longstreet’s Division, Army of Northern Virginia (Apr-Jun 62); Pryor’s Brigade, Longstreet’s Division, Army of Northern Virginia (Jun 62); Pryor’s Brigade, Wilcox’s Division, 1st Corps, Army of Northern Virginia (Aug-Sep 62); Artillery Battalion, Anderson’s Division, 1st Corps, Army of Northern Virginia (Sep 62-May 63); Artillery Battalion, Heth’s Division, 3rd Corps, Army of Northern Virginia (May-Jul 63); Garnett’s-Richardson’s Battalion, Artillery, 3rd Corps, Army of Northern Virginia (Jul 63-Apr 65)

Battles: Yorktown Siege (April-May 1862); Williamsburg (May 5, 1862); Seven Pines (May 31-June 1, 1862); Seven Days Battles (June 25-July 1, 1862); Gaines’ Mill (June 27, 1862); Frayser’s Farm (June 30, 1862); Beverly Ford and Rappahannock Station [skirmishes] [section] (August 23, 1862); 2nd Manassas (August 28-30, 1862); Sharpsburg (September 17, 1862); Shepherdstown Ford (September 19, 1862); Fredericksburg (December 13, 1862); Chancellorsville [not engaged] (May 1-4, 1863); Gettysburg (July 1-3, 1863); Williamsport [skirmish] (July 6, 1863); Bristoe Campaign (October 1863); Mine Run Campaign (November-December 1863); The Wilderness (May 5-6, 1864); Spotsylvania Court House (May 8-21, 1864); North Anna (May 23-26, 1864); Cold Harbor (June 1-3, 1864); Petersburg Siege (June 1864-April 1865); Petersburg Final Assault (April 2, 1865); Fort Gregg (April 2, 1865); Appomattox Court House (April 9, 1865)

From Bergeron, LA Confed. Units, 29-30:

"An old state militia company formed in 1837, the battery organized for Confederate service in August, 1861, and arrived in Richmond, Virginia, on September 5 with three 6-pounder guns. The government furnished three rifled cannons and ordered the battery to Yorktown. During the Federal operations againstYorktown, April 5-May 4, 1862, the battery occupied a position at Wynn’s Mill. At the Battle of Williamsburg, May 5, the three 6-pounders were engaged in defending Fort Magruder late in the action. The battery suffered no significant casualties. On June 1, the battery played a small part in the Battle of Fair Oaks. During the Seven Days’ Campaign near Richmond, the battery served with General James Longstreet’s division. The men saw action at Gaines’ Mill, June 27-28, and Glendale, June 30; 1 man was killed and 3 were wounded in those battles. The battery was attached to General Richard Anderson’s division of Longstreet’s Corps, Army of Northern Virginia, for the Second Manassas Campaign. On August 23, the battery had one section [two guns] engaged in skirmishes at Beverly Ford and Rappahannock Station but suffered no casualties. The battery fought at Sharpsburg, September 17, and again had no men injured. During the retreat from Maryland, the battery lost one gun, overrun by a Federal attack, and had 1 man killed and 2 wounded in a skirmish atShepherd’s Ford, September 18. At the Battle of Fredericksburg, December 13, the battery occupied cannon pits to the left of the Plank Road on Marye’s Heights. One gun became disabled because of a broken wheel, and casualties amounted to 1 man killed and 6 wounded. The battery was not engaged in the Battle of Chancellorsville. In the reorganization of the army, the battery was assigned to the [Third] Corps. At the Battle of Gettysburg, the battery saw action only on July 1, 1863, near Cemetery Hill. The men fought in the skirmish at Williamsport, Maryland, on July 6 during the retreat from Pennsylvania. The battery was involved in both the Bristoe Station Campaign, October 9-22, and Mine Run Campaign, November 26-December 2. During the spring and summer of 1864, the battery participated in all of the operations of Robert E. Lee’s army, including the Wilderness, Spotsylvania, and Cold Harbor operations. The men occupied various fortifications in the Petersburg defenses during the operations there from the summer of 1864 to the spring of 1865. The battery was included in the surrender of Lee’s army at Appomattox, on April 9, 1865. Captain LANDRY, 3 lieutenants, 64 enlisted men, and 4 servants were present at the surrender. Of the approximately 158 men who served in the battery during the war, 16 died in battle and 20 died of disease."


Victor Maurin - Captain and Major Herbert, T.
William C. Lawes - 1st Sr. Lieutenant Hernandez, John
Lestant Fortier - 1st Jr. Lieutenant Hidalgo, Ernest
M. Cazares - 2nd Sr. Lieutenant Hoplin, Peter
R. P. Landry - 2nd Jr. Lieutenant Humbert, Paul
Camile Mollere - 1st Jr. Lieutenant Joyner, Mike
Hubert Trille - 2nd Sr. Lieutenant Kling, Gabriel
Antonio Sanchez - 2nd Jr. Lieutenant Klotz, Abraham
Clement Israel - 1st Sergeant Kuhn, William
Tip Landry - Sergeant Lacroix, Louis
J. T. Blorrin - Sergeant Landry, Adolphe
John T. Landry - Sergeant Landry, Desire
Arthur Echavaria - Sergeant Landry, Herman
Oscar DeMesme - Sergeant Landry, James
Aime Richard - Commissary Sergeant Landry, Octave
Thomas Morelli - Corporal Landry, S.
Horace Rougeau - Corporal Laresche, William F.
Thomas Byrne - Corporal LeBlanc, C.
Eugene Kerprotte - Corporal LeBlanc, Camille
H. Acasta - Corporal LeBlanc, L. D.
A. M. Sobral - Corporal LeBlanc, Octave
Edward Theriot - Corporal Levy, E. H.
Cire Bienvenue - Artificer Levy, Julien
J. Oubre - Artificer Linossier, L.
J. N. Brand - Bugler Loeb, Henry
Privates: Lynn, Ernest r.
Arceneaux, D. Lyon, S.
Aucoin, Evariste Marks, William
Babin, T. Mataye, E.
Bergeron, Emile McCoy, James
Blanchard, S. McCullough, Alexander
Bloom, J. McEroy, _____
Bohen, Tim Melancon, A.
Boudro, Fustave Mioton, John
Boudro, Octave Mioton, Seymour
Brand, P. S. Molere, D.
Bynum, T. Monot, Ernest
Carotters, James Morin, Edward
Cellett, James Morin, Mathieu
Chase, Robert Morin, Michel
Choinier, J. Murphy, S.
Cooley, Eugene Newchurch, Edward
Comes, Louis Newchurch, Henry
Comstock, Arthur Nicaud, Henry
Dafferes, Wm. Dalga Parks, William V.
DeBlanc, Rodolphe Perrez, A.
Decoux, Cyrille Pidoux, Charles
Delesternier, William Pleasancia, N.
Delmer, J. O. Querolie, L.
Drouilhet, Paul Ramirez, M.
Duffell, H., Jr. Ramirez, Pierre
Dugas, J. G. Richard, John
Dugas, Octave Savoie, C.
Eckleburg, J. Schmidt, Albert
Ely, William Shure, D.
Epinger, G. Southerland, Collins
Fedderly, F. Stanley, Joseph
Flannigan, M. Suarez, Andre
Friche, Armas Suarez, John
Furry, H. C. Suarez, R.
Gaillard, R. Templet, C.
Gaudet, J. B. Templet, H.
Gauthreaux, Alfred Tiroir, J.
Grilhe, Adolphe Viala, T.
Guedry, Jules Wagner, J.
Guidry, L. Walfrom, L.
Hardie, Eugene Williams, William
Hart, William Winchester, R.
Herbert, J. O. Winner, J.

Previous Page