Principle counties of infantry
enlistment in Iowa

1st-- Recruited from the state at large.
2nd-- Lee, Polk, Jefferson, Van Buren, Davis, Washington, Clinton, Wapello, Scott.
3rd-- Dubuque, Marion, Clayton, Winneshiek, Story, Fayette, Warren, Mahaska, Black Hawk.
4th-- Mills, Pottawattamie, Harrison, Cass, Shelby, Guthrie, Dallas, Decatur, Clarke, Polk, Warren, Madison, Ringgold, Adams, Union, Wayne, Taylor, Page.
5th-- Cedar, Jasper, Louisa, Keokuk, Buchanan, Marshall, Benton, Jackson, Linn, Hardin, Franklin.
6th-- Linn, Hardin, Franklin, Monroe, Clarke, Johnson, Lee, Henry
7th-- Muscatine, Washington, Chickasaw, Floyd, Cerro Gordo, Mahaska, Lee, Wapello, Henry, Iowa, Des Moines, Jefferson.
8th-- Scott, Clinton, Louisa, Washington, Benton, Linn, Marion, Keokuk, Iowa, Mahaska, Monroe.
9th-- Jackson, Jones, Buchanan, Clayton, Fayette, Black Hawk, Winneshiek, Howard, Bremer, Linn.
10th-- Polk, Boone, Warren, Tama, Madison, Greene, Jasper, Poweshiek, Washington.
11th-- Muscatine, Louisa, Cedar, Henry, Washington, Keokuk, Van Buren, Linn, Marshall.
12th-- Dubuque, Jackson, Delaware, Black Hawk, Hardin, Fayette, Winneshiek, Allamakee, Linn.
13th-- Linn, Jasper, Marion, Lucas, Keokuk, Scott, Polk, Benton, Marshall, Washington.
14th-- Henry, Lee, Van Buren, Des Moines, Dubuque, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Iowa, Jasper.
15th-- Clinton, Linn, Polk, Mahaska, Wapello, Van Buren, Fremont, Mills, Marion, Warren, Harrison, Pottawattamie.
16th-- Muscatine, various other parts of the state.
17th-- Decatur, Lee, Van Buren, Polk, Wapello, Appanoose, Washington, Marion, Louisa, Dallas.
Page 2
18th-- Linn, Clinton, Jones, Dubuque, Winneshiek, Clarke, Lucas, Monroe, Iowa, Keokuk, Mahaska, Muscatine, Louisa, Linn, Wapello, Appanoose, Marion, Warren, Polk, Fayette, Benton, Clinton, Washington.
19th-- Lee, Van Buren, Jefferson, Henry, Louisa, Washington.
20th-- Scott, Linn.
21st-- Mitchell, Worth, Black Hawk, Clayton, Dubuque, Delaware.
22nd-- Johnson, Monroe, Jasper, Wapello.
23rd-- Polk, Dallas, Story, Wayne, Page, Montgomery, Jasper, Madison, Cass, Marshall, Pottawattamie.
24th-- Linn, Cedar, Jackson, Johnson, Tama, Jones.
25th-- Henry, Des Moines, Washington, Louisa.
26th-- Clinton, Jackson, Jones.
27th-- Allamakee, Clayton, Delaware, Floyd, Buchanan, Mitchell, Chickasaw.
28th-- Benton, Iowa, Tama, Poweshiek, Johnson, Jasper.
29th-- Pottawattamie, Mills, Harrison, Adams, Adair, Fremont, Taylor, Ringgold, Union, Guthrie.
30th-- Lee, Davis, Jefferson, Washington, Des Moines, Van Buren.
31st-- Linn, Black Hawk, Jackson, Cedar, Jones.
32nd-- Hamilton, Wright, Hardin, Kossuth, Cerro Gordo, Winnebago, Hancock, Black Hawk, Boone, Butler, Grundy, Floyd, Franklin, Webster, Humboldt, Marshall, Story.
33rd-- Marion, Keokuk, Mahaska.
34th-- Decatur, Warren, Lucas, Clarke, Marion, Wayne.
35th-- Muscatine, Cedar.
36th-- Monroe, Wapello, Appanoose, Marion, Lucas, Van Buren.
37th-- Recruited from the state at large.
38th-- Fayette, Winneshiek, Bremer, Chickasaw, Howard.
39th-- Madison, Polk, Dallas, Clarke, Greene, Des Moines, Decatur.
Page 3
40th-- Marion, Jasper, Poweshiek, Mahaska, Keokuk, Benton.
41st - 43rd-- Only on papter
44th - 47th-- State at large
1st-- Eastern half of state
2nd-- Muscatine, Scott, Jackson, Harrison, Cerro Gordo, Mitchell, Winnebago, Johnson, Polk, Hardin, Tama, Story
3rd-- Lee, Van Buren, Davis, Jefferson, marion, Appanoose, Wapello, Wayne
4th-- Fremont, Page, Mills
5th-- Midwest region
6th-- At large
7th-- West & at large
8th-- At large
9th-- At large
1st-- at large
2nd-- Polk, Dallas, Harrison, Fremont, Pottawattamie
3rd-- Dubuque
4th-- At large

Previous Page

Reference:  Roster & Record of Iowa Soldiers of the War of the Rebellion.  Together with historical sketches of volunteer organizations 1861-1866.

Vol. VI---Miscellaneous.  Published by authority of the General Assembly, under the direction of Brig. Gen. Guy E. Logan, Adjutant General.
Des Moines-Emory K. English, State Printer.  E. D. Chassell, State Binder. 1910